MODAL VERBS

Greetings everyone!

 

I am going to share more about grammar that I have learned in the previous lecture.

The topic is MODAL VERBS. This might seem as something really easy to some of us, but actually, there’s a part where this thing can get you into confusion.

First of all, let’s us recognize the common modal verbs.

CAN / COULD / MAY / MIGHT / MUST / SHALL / SHOULD / OUGHT TO / WILL / WOULD

 

Modal Example Uses
Can They can control their own budgets.We can’t fix it.

Can I smoke here?

Can you help me?

Ability / PossibilityInability / Impossibility

Asking for permission

Request

Could Could I borrow your dictionary?Could you say it again more slowly?

We could try to fix it ourselves.

I think we could have another Gulf War.

He gave up his old job so he could work for us.

Asking for permission.Request

Suggestion

Future possibility

Ability in the past

May May I have another cup of coffee?China may become a major economic power. Asking for permissionFuture possibility
Might We’d better phone tomorrow, they might be eating their dinner now.

They might give us a 10% discount.

Present possibility

Future possibility

Must We must say good-bye now.They mustn’t disrupt the work more than necessary. Necessity / ObligationProhibition
Ought to We ought to employ a professional writer. Saying what’s right or correct
Shall(More common in the UK than the US) Shall I help you with your luggage?Shall we say 2.30 then?

Shall I do that or will you?

OfferSuggestion

Asking what to do

Should We should sort out this problem at once.I think we should check everything again.

Profits should increase next year.

Saying what’s right or correctRecommending action

Uncertain prediction

Will I can’t see any taxis so I’ll walk.I’ll do that for you if you like.

I’ll get back to you first thing on Monday.

Profits will increase next year.

Instant decisionsOffer

Promise

Certain prediction

Would Would you mind if I brought a colleague with me?Would you pass the salt please?

Would you mind waiting a moment?

“Would three o`clock suit you?” – “That’d be fine.”

Would you like to play golf this Friday?

“Would you prefer tea or coffee?” – “I’d like tea please.”

Asking for permissionRequest

Request

Making arrangements

Invitation

Preferences

Credit to : http://www.learnenglish.de/grammar/verbmodal.htm

Note that the usage of each modal verb may or may not be differ from others.

Do not stress out, now let’s have a look at this cartoon below.

You see the difference? Modal verbs are used to show some politeness too! Interesting, right? Even the boy is drowning, he still uses the correct modal verb. Hahaha.

Last but not least, enjoy this video . Thank you!

One thought on “MODAL VERBS

Leave a comment